Facultad de Ciencias • Universidad de Salamanca
1 - 4 Septiembre, 2015 Salamanca (España)


Alain AspectAlain Aspect (http://www.lcf.institutoptique.fr/Alain-Aspect-homepage )

Born in 1947, Alain Aspect is an alumni of ENS Cachan and Université d'Orsay. After three years teaching in Cameroon, he became a lecturer at ENS Cachan, with his research at Institut d'Optique. In 1985 he took a research position at ENS/Collège de France, with Claude Cohen-Tannoudji. Since 1992 he has been a CNRS senior researcher (emeritus since 2012), at Institut d'Optique. He is also a professor at Institut d'Optique Graduat School (Augustin Fresnel chair), and at Ecole Polytechnique, in Palaiseau. He is a member of the Académie des Sciences (France), Académie des Technologies (France), National Academy of Sciences (USA), OAW (Austria). He has received many awards, among them the CNRS Gold medal (2005), the Wolf Prize in Physics (2010), The Balzan prize on quantum information (2013), the Niels Bohr Gold medal (2013). Alain Aspect first research bore on tests of Bell's inequalities with entangled photon pairs (PhD, 1974-1983) and wave-particle duality for single photons (1984-86). With Claude Cohen-Tannoudji he developed new methods for cooling atoms with lasers (1985-1992). Since 1992, he is with the Atom Optics group that he has established at Institut d'Optique, where research bears upon quantum atom optics, quantum degenerate gases and atom lasers, quantum simulation of disordered materials.


Andrea AlùAndrea Alù (http://users.ece.utexas.edu/~aalu/ )

Andrea Alù is an Associate Professor and the David & Doris Lybarger Endowed Faculty Fellow in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. His current research interests span over a broad range of areas, including metamaterials and plasmonics, electromangetics, optics and photonics, scattering, cloaking and transparency, nanocircuits and nanostructures modeling, miniaturized antennas and nanoantennas, RF antennas and circuits., acoustic devices and metamaterials. He is the co-author of an edited book on optical antennas, over 20 book chapters, over 400 conference papers, and over 250 journal papers, among which several high-impact publications with a large number of citations to date. His findings on metamaterials, plasmonics and cloaking are regularly highlighted in the general press, with recent appearenceson BBC, CNN. NBC. In light of his scientific record, Dr. Alù has received several scientific awards and recognitions from various technical societies, including the OSA Adolph Lomb Medal (2013), the 2014 Outstanding Young Engineer Award from the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society, the inaugural Franco Strazzabosco Award and the Medal of Representation of the President of the Republic of Italy (2013), the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize inOptics (2013), the SPIE Early Career Investigator Award (2012), the URSI Issac Koga Gold Medal (2011), an NSF CAREER award (2010), the AFOSR and the DTRA Young Investigator Awards (2010, 2011).


Alexander L. GaetaAlexander L. Gaeta (http://focus.aep.cornell.edu/)

Alex Gaeta received his B.S. degree in 1983, M.S. degree in 1984, and his Ph.D. in 1991, all in Optics from the University of Rochester. From 1992 to 2015 he was on the faculty at the School of Applied Engineering Physics at Cornell University. In July of 2015, he joined the faculty at the Department of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics at Columbia University. He has published more than 190 papers in areas of integrated nonlinear optics, all-optical signal processing, nanophotonics, ultrafast nonlinear optics, and quantum effects in nonlinear optics. He co-founded PicoLuz, Inc. along with Michal Lipson and Alex Cable. He is the founding Editor-in-Chief of Optica. He is a Fellow of the Optica Society of America and of the American Physical Society.


Susana MarcosSusana Marcos (http://www.vision.csic.es/default.aspx)

Susana Marcos is currently a Professor of Research, at IO-CSIC and the Director of the Visual Optics and Biophotonics Lab, where she oversees 18 members from 6 different nationalities and multidisciplinary backgrounds (Physics, Biomedical, Optical, Biomechanical, Computer and Electrical Engineering, Visual Sciences, Ophthalmology, etc.). She has pioneered research in novel techniques to assess the optical properties of the ocular optics and the human retina. Major contributions include the development of Ocular Speckle Interferometry, Wavefront Sensing, Adaptive Optics, Quantiative Anterior Segment Optical Coherence Tomography, with applications in the evaluation, improvement and/or new developments in laser refractive surgery, intraocular lenses, and the treatment of keratoconus and presbyopia, among others. She has published more than 120 peer-reviewed publications. She is an inventor in 11 families of patents, 5 licensed to industry. Her work has been recognized with numerous prestigious awards, including the Adolph Lomb Medal, awarded by the Optical Society of America, the European Young Investigator Award, from EURHORCs-ESF, and the ICO Prize awarded by the International Commission for Optics, and Honoris Causa Doctorship by the Ukraine Academy of Science and Technology, and a European Research Council Advanced Grant. She is also elected Fellow of the European Optical Society, of the Optical Society of America and of the Association of Research in Vision and Ophthalmology. She currently serves as an elected Director-at-Large of the Optical Society of America.


Philip RussellPhilip Russell (http://www.pcfiber.com/)

Philip Russell is a Director at the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Erlangen, Germany. His area of research is ”Photonic crystal fibre science” covering scientific applications of microstructured fibre such as extreme nonlinear optics in gas-filled hollow cores, optomechanical and optoacoustic effects in nano-scale fibre structures, laser transport of particles, photochemistry and supercontinuum generation at new wavelengths. Russell is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America and the founding chair of the OSA Topical Meeting Series on Bragg Gratings, Photosensitivity and Poling in Glass. In 2000 he won OSA's Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize for the invention of photonic crystal ("holey") fibre, which he first proposed in 1991. This was followed in 2002 by the Applied Optics Division Prize of the UK Institute of Physics. He was the recipient of an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer award 2004-6, and a Royal Society/Wolfson Research Merit Award in 2005. In 2004 he won the Thomas Young Prize of the Institute of Physics, and in 2005 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society. He is the founder of BlazePhotonics Limited, a company whose aim was the commercial exploitation of photonic crystal fibre. The company, which holds the world record for low loss hollow core photonic crystal fibre, was acquired by Crystal Fibre a/s in August 2004. In September 2005 he received the Körber European Science Prize, in 2013 the EPS Prize for Research into the Science of Light, in 2014 the Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis and he was recently announced as the winner of the 2015 IEEE Photonics Award. He is OSA President for 2015, the UNESCO International Year of Light.



Fundación Española para la Ciencia y la Tecnología RIAO

Laser 2000 Thorlabs Lasing Pi Micos OSA The Optical Society Alava Ingenieros Innova scientific Iberdrola iberoptics Photon Lines Antares Instrumentación